The churches on the island of Vis, because of their beauty, are of exceptional cultural and historical value. Located in picturesque places, they provide an experience to remember!
Church of the Holy Spirit – Komiža
This church is one of the simplest and smallest churches on Vis. It was built on the highest peak of the island – the Hum hill, at 560 meters above sea level
The church has a narrow door and two small windows and looks more like a cottage. The only stylistic feature is the Gothic vault, so it is assumed to be from the 15th century.
Mass is held in this church once a year, on the Feast of Pentecost (50 days after Christ’s Resurrection).
In close vicinity to the church, there is a paraglider take-off area. From the road to Hum, up a stone staircase, you can reach Tito’s Cave where, in 1944, was the headquarters of the partisan army and the seat of Tito’s authority.
Location: You can reach the church and the viewpoint by the road from Komiža, about 11 km away, and 14,5 km from Vis.
Church of Our Lady of Planica – Komiža
On the hill above Komiža, a little farther from St. Nicholas Church, on the road to Vis, there is one of the most peculiar churches on the island – the Church of Our Lady of Planica
This baroque church was built in the beginning of the second half of the 17th century (when it was first mentioned in the writings of episcopal visitations), and is dedicated to Mary’s visit to Elizabeth, which is celebrated on May 31st.
Its uniqueness in construction is reinforced by the roof cornice made of corrugated tiles and bricks with the small lantern in a shape of crown on the top of the roof. The entrance is adorned with a baroque door and a baroque stone altar with the painting “Meeting of Mary and Elizabeth”.
The church has the status of a protected cultural property.
Location: You can reach the Church of Our Lady of Planica from the port of Komiža, in a 10-minute car ride, along the main road to Vis.
Church of St. Roch – Komiža
On the Adriatic islands exposed to pirate attacks, there were fortified churches and monasteries. At the entrance to Komiža, there is one such church – a fortress, the church of St. Roch
On the Adriatic islands exposed to pirates, there were fortified churches and monasteries. One such church – a fortress, is located at the entrance to Komiža, on the coastline. It was built by the family Mardešić from Komiža in 1763. The old church of St.Roch, that was built in the 16th century, at the time of the plague, was converted into a sacristy, and a new one was built next to it, a church – the fortress of St. Roch.
Even today, there are no windows on the walls of the church, except the round one on the front and the window under the roof, as well as the side loopholes, and the hanging defensive wall on consoles, built above them.
In the 20th century, a small bell tower was erected, which along with the altar was relocated from the old church, i.e. from the sacristy. Inside the church there is a late Baroque altar with a painting by the Italian artist from the 19th Century – Our Lady of Carmel, St. Roch, St. Vincent Ferrer and St. Simon Stock.
Today, in the church the Holy Mass is celebrated on the day of the patron saint of the church (August 16), and on the day of Our Lady of Mount Carmel (July 16).
Location: From the port of Komiža to the Church of St. Roch takes some 7 – 8 minutes, easy walking.